New Kits Unveiled

So, before I get to much talking myself, I’ll give you all a chance to make what you will of them:

0b77fe7645468a1388ee2da1c56036d8_478043

cc962396f0721ea86b40047cb8ac3055_478043

9428fa9d858da730dabab3f14aeba0a2_478048

64a0021eb8b8fa03c8dff83bfbbd0746_478048

 

So, what do you think? If you ask me, I’d have to say I’m quite happy with what I’ve seen today and to be honest, I’m even more excited to see them in person.

Its all kind of overbearing. I mean, where do I start? I guess I’ll start with the black one since that will apparently be our main kit for this season. Its also the one that has received the most attention so far, and in a good way. People seem to love the jersey for the most part and I really can’t blame them. Its a simple yet very effective design, and the gold with the black looks very sharp. Its classy yet at the same time also serious, what so many of our jerseys from our recent past (especially the Puma ones) were not.

There are two noteworthy features to point out about the new kits, especially on the black one. The first is the numbering on the back: If you look at it, you’ll notice the numbers depict one of the pictures that captured the grim scenes following the Asia Minor catastrophe. Its one of the many pictures that any Asia Minor refugee descendant would likely be familiar with, a picture of streams of refugees leaving their homelands with nothing but what they could carry on their backs:

karavani-copy-744x551

Its not an uplifting image, but its a reminder of where AEK came from and what AEK represents. Its an important reminder too as it seems as every day goes by, more and more Greeks forget what so many people went through less than a century ago. They lost their homes and traditions and whole villages were wiped from the history books. They were humiliated when they arrived in Greece, simply looking for some food and shelter while trying to come to terms with all they had been through. Despite all this, they still managed to create a team that has played its part in ensuring that people like me never forget our history and roots and its great to see the team incorporate our history this way.

Aside from the numbers, another noticeable change is the fact that our emblem has changed slightly. Its still the same design, but all three kits now feature our emblem simply in black and gold. The end result is stunning if I may so myself. I am a bit worried that it doesn’t quite stand out so much on the black kits but I don’t mind because I think it looks so good anyways. I’m not quite sure I’d want to see the black and gold emblem replace our traditional emblem for good since I feel like we already had one of the best emblems out there, but I’m more than happy to see it on our kits for a year or two.

Enough about the black kits, what about the other two? Well it seems like our secondary kit will be the striped one that we had last season, except with the new emblem. I can’t complain about that since I loved that kit. Its a nice change with the new emblem while still keeping the already great jersey as is.

And the third kit? Its a bright pink kit which is certainly a bit different but I don’t mind it at all. Its something different, a change from the less exciting third kits we’ve seen in the past. Plus its also considerably cheaper to purchase than the other two which should give more people the chance to buy one right away.

So, what do you think? If you like what you see as much as I do, you can order a kit online from AEK’s e-shop . I’m not sure what their policy is on shipping abroad but hopefully they’re able to. I read that the site actually had trouble keeping up because the demand was so high, so if you have issues that could be why.

4 Responses to “New Kits Unveiled”

  1. I really like the black and gold with the image on the numbers. I have to get one of those for sure.

  2. gtmanleg Says:

    Does anyone know where I can get this jersey? I don’ believe I’ve seen it anywhere else since this post.

    • Hey! Unfortunately I only see the new kits on the official AEK shop. Let me look around a bit and I’ll see if I can find somewhere else to pick them up.

Leave a Reply

