Dellas For Another Year

Big news yesterday following a meeting with Bajevic, Mellisanidis, and Dellas, news that I’m quite relieved to hear. I know its a bit early to make significant judgments on Dellas’ ability as a coach considering we’ve yet to consistently face tough opposition, but he really deserves the chance to prove himself as far as I’m concerned. He’s done well with the team and budget hes had until now and I can’t help but appreciate his dedication to the team. Not only did he come in at a time when not many people were willing to, but he also stuck with the team through what have been the two most difficult years since AEK was formed ninety one years ago.

It wont be easy for him next year when he will face more difficult opposition both on and off the pitch, but I think its important we not have our expectations too high. Do I want us to win the championship? Of course I do, but I have to remember that we’re still building the team and as of now, we certainly don’t have a team that is ready to win it all yet. Perhaps that could change as the summer goes on, but that all depends on what kind of players we go for, and how much management is willing to spend.

As most of you will by now have learned, the playoffs are now officially over, and it didn’t really end as well as we all would have liked. Our final two results were a 1-1 draw against Larissa and a 1-0 loss to Oly Volou and while I’m not exactly happy about the scores, at this point all I want to do is forget the past two years even happened. From here on things can only get better, and they certainly will.

Transfer talk has been the usual throwing around of names, but we are apparently close to singing Ronald Vargas (I believe its just a matter of receiving the signed contract, but I really couldn’t say for sure). I haven’t seen Vargas play personally but judging from youtube clips, I think he would definitely be a great addition to the team. We’ve also signed Stavros Vasilantonopoulos, a 23 year old from Apollon Smyrnis. I haven’t seen much of him either but he was apparently Apollon’s best player this season, so I’m looking forward to seeing what he can do during the preseason.

14 Responses to “Dellas For Another Year”

  1. gtmanleg Says:

    In the long run, perhaps these 2 years away from the Superleague will be a blessing as it allows us to regroup and rebuild a team from scratch apart from baggage. I don’t know how it will end up next year, but I’m looking forward to it.

  2. We’ve actually already signed Vargas no? I asked a Venezuelan expert to give me some input on him and this is what he had to say.

    “He’s in the [Copa America] squad but has only recently returned to the fold after a few years away, largely due to injury. To say he’s injury prone would be an understatement. That said, he was largely injury free in Turkey last year. Though the preceding 6 or so years in Belgium was a different matter. He shone at his first club in Belgium (his first European team), though when he got a bigger move to Anderlecht the injuries piled up and he didn’t play a great deal. He left on a free at the end of the 13/14 season. But it seems he’s on the way back up. Some feel he’s one of the most naturally gifted players from Venezuela. He showed a lot of early promise and holds the distinction of scoring in Venezuela’s only ever victory over Brazil back in 2008. (a friendly). The 2010/11 season with Brugge was his high point – 15 goals in 23 games – earned him the Anderlecht move.”

    Then I asked him about his position and he told me he’s a versatile player who can play as a number 10 but prefers to play on the right cutting inside.

  3. Chris Zap Says:

    we did not win our last 4 playoff games, but who cares, its over now!!

  4. Chris Zap Says:

    And now for something different!!! Another good video 🙂

  5. Hello Chris. That would be great! It’s just, I think, the famous AEK olé chant which I hear and I’m curious for a long time as to what they sing. I believe I first heard it in 1994 in Nea Philidelphia when AEK played against Ajax Amsterdam

  6. Van der Vaart has been named flop of the Bundesliga season this year. Like I was saying, maybe it’s a good thing we didn’t get him. Anyway, I wish him luck in his new adventures in Spain.

    • A few seasons aek was broadcast on ANT1. Anyone know where they will be broadcast next season?

      • alexaek Says:

        Good question, I think something was mentioned a while back. I’ll see if I can find any info, unless someone else here knows.

Leave a Reply

