Good and Bad News Today

I suppose I’ll start off with the bad for now. Our punishment for the events that took place towards the end of our match with Olympiakos was announced, and essentially it comes down to a fine (I believe somewhere around 15,000 euros but I could be quite a ways off with that) and a three point deduction. The three point deduction is unfortunate, but I feel like it could have been worse. Thankfully the impact is minimal since we have such a huge lead, and according to one article I read it should only end up meaning a point less for us come playoff time. I remember reading an article a couple weeks ago which suggested the point deduction might take effect next season, which I feel would have been a much bigger blow to us, so in a way I’m somewhat relieved by this.

The good news for today is that we have taken some huge steps forward with regards to the stadium. The StE, which I believe refers to the Council of State, has from what I understand granted us permission for our plans for the stadium. I could be wrong regarding what specifically the announcement from the council said, but the impression I got was that this was a huge victory for the team. I’m not sure if this essentially eliminates the hurdles we were facing from the municipality of Nea Filadelfeia, but I’m hoping either way we can see some sort of start to the construction one way or another!

6 Responses to “Good and Bad News Today”

  1. Chris Zap Says:

    I think we also got hit with a 2 game suspension, with no fans. A lot of news lately regarding Scoco, from what I am reading on the AEK websites, AEK is going to attempt to bring him back this summer.
    As for me, i am off to see Messi play shortly, the Argentinian national team is in town to play a friendly against Salvador πŸ™‚
    I’ll be wearing my AEK scarf at the game, its being a while since i been to a football match.

  2. Chris Zap Says:

    Another AEK fan at last Saturday’s game, that makes at least two of us there πŸ˜‰
    http://www.aek365.com/a-389340/aek-akoma-kai-sto-argentinh-el-salbaror.htm

Leave a Reply

