AEK 2-1 Panachaiki

A narrow important win for us today against the second placed team of the league. It was safe to assume before the match that it would not be an easy one, and Panachaiki certainly came for the win. Both teams had fantastic chances to score more goals, and while we ultimately created more chances than Panachaiki, the visitors came agonizingly close to scoring on a number of occasions (including at least one, if not two, posts).

Our two goals were scored by Platellas and Mantalos, and I’m certainly more than happy to see both of them score. Each match I’ve watched, Platellas always seemed to attempt at least one shot outside the box and hes come close to scoring on a number of those shots. Fortunately one of his shots finally reached the target, resulting in a fantastic goal from a nicely placed shot.

Mantalos had a pretty good game today with a number of nice crosses and passes, so its always good to see a good performance rewarded with a goal. In addition to Platellas and Mantalos, Soleidis and Johansson also had very encouraging performances, with Johansson being rewarded MVP (I must say, whoever it was who scouted Johansson deserves a round of applause since hes turned out to be one great signing).

The most disappointing player of the match for AEK would unfortunately have to be Anestis. I mentioned in my last post how he seems to be very consistently making at least one serious mistake each game. I also mentioned that we have until now not been punished too often by his mistakes. Well, today we were punished. I won’t even attempt to describe what happens, you’ll have to see it for yourself in the highlight video below.

7 Responses to “AEK 2-1 Panachaiki”

  1. gtmanleg Says:

    Have we clinched a playoff spot already? If I’m reading it right, it seems we have.

    • Hm, good question actually. I’m looking at the table at the moment, and we’re currently on 50 points, followed by second place Panachaiki with 41, and Apollon Smirnis with 37.

      Actually, I just looked again and it looks like youre right. I forgot there were only four games left in the season, so theres pretty much no chance Apollon can catch us, which means we have technically clinched our playoff spot (not that it was ever in doubt). We will still need to get all the points we can get from the remaining regular season games as they affect our standing come playoffs.

  2. gtmanleg Says:

    I was thinking there were 6 games left (now 5?) and that the 4th place team could not catch us, so the worst we could finish was 3rd. Either way, I think we clinched a playoff spot, although of course I’d like to win the table (and we should).

    • alexaek Says:

      You’re absolutely right, there are six games left. I was sure the schedule I was looking at yesterday only showed four games left but I must’ve misread for some reason.

  3. gtmanleg Says:

    I should also ask, since you mentioned it. Does the team’s finish in the standings give them starting points for the playoffs? I’m assuming so by your comment, but couldn’t find the format for this.

  4. alexaek Says:

    I’m not 100% clear on how exactly it works, but I believe it the distance between the 1st and 3rd place teams that determines how many points the first place teams start with. If I remember correctly from an article I saw recently, thats what they were getting at. Im not sure exactly how it works though, if we’d start with 9 points now for example, or fewer. I think as we approach the last couple of games I should have a better idea of how it all works.

Leave a Reply

