AEK 3-0 Atromitos (Continued)

Before bringing up today’s win against Atromitos, I’d like to take a moment to catch up on some news that I missed from the past few weeks (school getting in the way, the usual…)

Since my last post, we played two additional league games and I’m both happy and relieved to say that the results were far more positive than our 0-0 draw against Ermionida. The first of the two games was a 4-0 win against Fostiras with goals courtesy of Dounis, Mantalos, and Platellas (who scored two that evening). For a while it looked as if the game might have ended up in another 0-0 draw, though finally our first goal did arrive in the 72nd minute.

Our next game was another convincing win, this time a 5-1 win against Iraklis Psachnon. Platellas and Dounis were both scorers again, along with Lambropoulos and Brecevic (who scored two goals for us that game). This game was our last league game for the first half of the season, leaving us top of the table going into the Christmas break. As of right now, we are still first with 28 points, though Panachaiki are only 3 points behind us.

We made a significant singing during the break with our singing of Swedish midfielder Jakob Johansson. I’ve yet to see him play, though reports suggest he’s a fairly promising player who should hopefully add some depth to our roster. Considering we were affected by injuries just before the break, Johansson should certainly be a helpful addition.

And now for today’s game… Well what can I say. As I mentioned in my post a couple months back, I felt we certainly had the potential to win, though I wasn’t quite as confident as I would’ve liked to have been. Atromitos is, afterall, a first division team currently sitting in a respectable position in the league. To add to that, I was sure Atromitos would have enjoyed to chance to get some revenge for their cup final loss to us a few years back. Needless to say, I was not expecting such a comfortable win, but of course Im ecstatic because of it. I know its still early, and I know our chances are slim to none, but it would be amazing seeing us win the Cup as a second division team.

I think this win really proves we’re heading in a good direction with this current squad. Sure we’re a young team, but up until now they’ve proven to be a focused and fairly consistent group of players. Simply looking at our results from the past two months shows that we’re starting to get some things right, and today’s result was, I feel, the ultimate display of how far we’ve come until now.

Its quite exciting really, to have such a promising group of young Greek players. The addition of some experienced Greeks and foreign players will without a doubt put us in a great position for our return to the superleague.

The scorers, as I mentioned in my earlier post, were Aravidis, Lambropoulos, Tzanetopoulos. Mantalos, as described by AEK365, was our “Maestro” today, playing a large role in many of our plays. I know I keep heaping praise on Mantalos, but I cant help but get the feeling he’s gonna be a key player as our team develops. He seems to have a feeling for the game that certain players just seem to have. I remember watching Rivaldo play and even though he was in the later stages of his career, it was clear he understood the game better than most, and always knew what needed to be done, or what his role should be.

Highlights from today’s match can be found below:

One Response to “AEK 3-0 Atromitos (Continued)”

  1. Thanks for the update. Great news!

Leave a Reply

