Updates – Cup, Friendlies, New Website

Some updates since my last post:

-We won our second Cup game against Fokikos, this time with a score of 1-0, putting us through to the next round. The first match of the next round, away against Panthrakikos, ended in a 0-0 draw. Our next match is against Iraklis Psachnon on the 28th of October, while the final match of the 2nd round will be at home against Atromitos on the 2nd of December. I’m not particularly worried about the match against Iraklis Paschnon, though the match against Atromitos will certainly be a challenge. Thankfully it will be played at home, we’ll have to wait and see what happens.

Something to note about the cup this year is that there is now a group stage at the second leg, which is why we’re playing three teams, and only one game against each. We currently sit at second with one point, behind Atromitos who have three points. I’m not actually sure yet if its only the top team who advance or the top two. I believe its most likely the top two teams who advance, which should give us a pretty good chance of progressing.

-We have one more friendly coming up against Pierikos, our last friendly before the start of the league. This match will be on the 7th of October, while our first league match will be on the 12th of October, against Panaigialeios.

-We have a new website, and I must say its quite nice. I particularly like the new calendar, which can be found here: http://www.aekfc.gr/prp/ola-43306.htm?lang=el&path=-1449899271
There is no english version of the site yet, though it is apparently coming.

6 Responses to “Updates – Cup, Friendlies, New Website”

  1. Chris Zap Says:

    This is the team that send us to the 3rd division a couple of summers ago i believe. It will be sweet revenge to knock them out of further cup games.

  2. Wouter Hiltrop Says:

    off topic:
    traveling from The Netherlands to Athens in two weeks time:
    is it possible to buy tickets online for the Greek national team against N-Ireland on october 14th?
    And is it okay to take children to the game?

    • Hi there. So sorry I’m only responding to this now, I meant to before the game but got distracted by a bunch of other things. Did you end up going? I would say national team games are generally perfectly safe to go to. In fact most games in Greece are I would say, as long as you avoid trouble if you see some starting up.

      As for tickets, I actually wouldn’t be able to say, did you end up checking EPO’s site? They might have had something, though with most Greece games, you’ll be fine buying tickets at the gate, they rarely sell out.

      • Wouter Hiltrop Says:

        hello, we had a great time in Athens, bought some nice AEK gadgets and we visited the Greek game against n-Ireland. Everybody was friendly, no problem to bring your children.
        we bought tickets at the stadium in advance. unfortunately the game was in Pireaus, so the enemy’s stadium :-).
        Thanks for your nice website!

      • Thats great to hear! Athens is certainly an incredible city. And I’m glad you made it to the game (even though it wasnt a great result for Greece). I was sure it would be fine for children, national team games almost always are.

        I know what you mean about the stadium though. Watched one game there, don’t think I could ever do it again. I really did not feel comfortable being there…

      • And if you ever have any other questions about Greece or AEK, feel free to send me an email (my email is on the home page for the blog). I will be more likely to respond if I see it in my email inbox.

Leave a Reply

